Managing ap_fixed in PYNQ

I am relatively new to PYNQ, I am using it for my MSc thesis.
In particular, I developed a design in Vivado using the available FFT logicore.

The FFT is configured to have a single channel, 1024 FFT size, Pipelined architecture, 16 bit input width, fixed point data format, unscaled scaling, truncation rounding, non real time throttle.

I wanted to test my design in PYNQ, the overlay import ecc… works fine.
However I do not really know how to manage ap_fixed (the fft input is a fix16_15) in Python. My idea was to create a simple sinusoid using numpy, something like:

import numpy as np
x = np.linspace(0,2 * np.pi, 1024)
sinewave =np.sin(x)

And pass it to my fft to test it and check if the spectrum is coherent with the input signal.
Unfortunately I don’t really know how should I pass my sinusoid to my fft.
I should create a sinusoid with type ap_fixed<16,15>, but I didn’t understand how to do it properly.

I already read the following discussions: How to use ap_fixed data type to communicate with the ip made by the vivado hls? - #3 by dongzw and Using Fixed-Point Data in Python - #6 by pynqzen
But I am still a bit confused. Could anyone provide some examples or help me with the “conversion”?

1 Like

There is some good information in the other posts. Try check them again, including a response I’ll link below.
In your example, sinewave will be a list of floating point numbers. If you use fixed point in your FPGA design you need to convert from float to fixed.
If you have programmed in other languages you will have come across casting between types which is similar to what you need to do.

To go from float to fixed point is reasonably straight forward.
Fixed point numbers are like integers, but with a decimal point implied.

E.g.
0x0001 is integer 1
In fixed point, with 1 fractional bit the same value, 0x0001 is 0.5
With 2 fractional bits it is 0.25, and so on.