PYNQ: PYTHON PRODUCTIVITY

Litex integration with PYNQ

I’m currently in the process of attempting to integrate Litex’s SoC building suit with my PYNQ-Z1 board and am running into issues.

While I am not a total novice when it comes to designing digital logic, I definitely am when it comes to integrating designs into actual boards, especially when it comes to additional software layers like with the zynq so keep that in mind.

To give a short summary of what litex does:
It’s essentially a set of scripts that allows one to glue together all kinds of open source IPs to end up with a full SoC and then use a vendor or open source EDA to build it all and then either make ASICs or load into FPGAs.

What’s cool is that it runs on migen https://github.com/m-labs/migen which is an FHDL wrapping verilog in python code and adding extra features.

I’m trying to write a paper over this fall on the use of these tools for making image processing applications as opposed to vivado_hls or pure vivado block diagrams. To that end, getting it running with a pynq would let me run some really sweet experiments.

However, litex hasn’t been ported to pynq yet and I’ve essentially taken it upon myself to try and do it. What does exist is a port to the zybo board. In that board, what the developers did was generate an .xci for the zynq processing system and generated an SoC around the Zynq and connected AXI GP0 in the fabric.

I’ve modified the zybo files in litex’s board repo https://github.com/litex-hub/litex-boards/tree/master/litex_boards to make ones matching the pynq from a pin POV, made the .xci and generated the bitstream.