MRF24WG0MA Wifi pmod module on PYNQ-Z1

Hi Pynq community, this is my first time posting in this forum!

I have a Digilent pmod wifi module (link below) which I would like to use with my PYNQ-Z1 board.
I have read through the RF chip module documentation and it seems that I need some special dedicated Microchip libraries in order to properly interface with this wifi module.

I am kind of lost at the moment on how to proceed and would like to ask for a bit of guidance.

Basically I can think about two options:

-Is there is any simple way to integrate these libraries into my existing overlay? (I am using the default base overlay). I would like to integrate these additional libraries within the default base overlay’s pmod microblaze.

-If this cannot be done in a sample manner; what should I do in this case? I would like to keep some of the features offered through the base overlay (i.e, the arduino and pmod microblazes - in addition to this wifi module, I have some additional grove sensors that I communicate with using the arduino microblaze)

I hope my explanation is clear and makes sense.

Thanks for your comments!!

Link to digilent wifi pmod module: Pmod WiFi - Digilent Reference
PYNQ image version: 2.7.0

2 Likes

What do you want to use the Pmod WiFi for?
It has a SPI interface, so you may be able to port the software to run on a MicroBlaze in the base overlay. This is probably more of an advanced project, so this may be difficult if you are a beginner.

If you just want WiFi on your board, you can get inexpensive USB WiFi dongle that will work out of the box with PYNQ. Is this an option for you?

Cathal

1 Like

Hi Cathal,

Well I got myself this Pmod WiFi module and I would like to be able to use it :smiley: (For the sake of learning)

If I understood you correctly, I would need to create a new MicroBlaze in order to load all of these special libraries right?