[solved] AXI DMA Stream receive does not work on PYNQ-Z2 board

PYNQ-Z2 v2.6, unsure of tool version as I have never worked with PYNQ before
I am using Vitis HLS and Vivado to generate a bitstream/overlay.

I currently have an IP that calculates the output of a function (2 integers) based on 2 float inputs. I have a large array of input values that I want to run the IP on, and currently, having to write each and get the result 1 at a time, it’s very slow. I want to speed it up, and I thought about doing SIMD execution by writing an array, but I figured it would be even faster to use a stream to simply read in the values and generate outputs on the fly. Also, since I have a variable size of input (it’s being run for every pixel in an image, which may be of variable dimensions), a stream can handle that better than a fixed-size array.

I followed along on some tutorials, but I could not get the streams to work. Each time, I had the same problem. Everything works fine, until trying to retrieve the DMA data. The receive channel wait() function hangs forever. I thought this was a problem with my IP simply not being activated, but this doesn’t seem to be the case (in my first example, I even had the ap_start flag connected to a constant 1 value). After many attempts to fix, I eventually just followed along with this lab exactly:
https://pp4fpgas.readthedocs.io/en/latest/axidma2.html
And I encountered the same error! Specifically, on the dma_recv.wait() line, the program freezes forever. Looking at the DMA registers, the idle and ready flags are both set to 0.

Can anybody tell me what needs to be done differently on a PYNQ board to get this to work? I should note that I have no experience with FPGAs or hardware design before this project, so if you can explain at a beginner level, it would be greatly appreciated.