Ultra96 WiFi not working pynq2.4, 2.5 have executed enable code

I’m a pynq and ultra96 newbie. I’m really struggling to get the wifi working using pynq 2.4 or 2.5 on an ultra96v2 board. I’ve tried 2.4 and 2.5 because of the change in startup of wifi, but the behaviour seems the same in both:

I flash the SD card and start up. I have ethernet over usb access, see the board as a storage device (on my Mac) and can use screen over serial over usb. I can then ssh into the board on 192.168.3.1. I can ssh into the board in a browser on 192.168.2.1 but I can’t reach it with a browser at that address.

ifconfig shows something for 192.168.2.1, but I don’t think it is wifi:

p2p0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.2.1  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.2.255
        inet6 fe80::f8f0:5ff:fe71:e510  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether fa:f0:05:71:e5:10  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 532  bytes 145294 (145.2 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

I have tried switching on the wifi in the simple manner from the faqs:
sudo systemctl start wpa_ap.service
but when I query the state with
sudo systemctl list-unit-files | grep wpa_ap.service
the service has not started.

I’ve also followed the long method here which has been recommended elsewhere in support of a similar issue, but still no luck. I can find the device name (wlan0), check that it is up or switch it on using sudo ip link set wlan0 up and see that it is up:

3: wlan0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DORMANT mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether f8:f0:05:71:e5:10 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Going through the wpa_supplicant process to register my local wifi network:
sudo wpa_supplicant -B -D wext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
returns: