AXI DMA Channel not idle (PYNQ Z1)

Hi, I’m a bit new to PYNQ and I’m having some troubles running DMA on Jupyter Notebook.

The current issue I am having is that my “DMA receive channel” is not idle, and I can’t seem to find a way to make it idle again. I have gone through some online PYNQ and video tutorials, and also the documentation, but am confused as to how to do a reset. I’ve tried restarting the kernel and also the board itself. I am also aware that DMA channel not idle probably means that it is waiting for more bits of data, but my current goal is just to try and get it out of non-idle state.

Speculations
The entire design was created by: packaging HLS design which had a cvtcolor_rgb2gray function, added to Vivado and connected to AXI DMA and ZYNQ IPs through block connection automation. I noticed that the HLS function used bundle=gmem for the m_axi ports, which means it is designed to access DDR global memory (iirc). That means in my Vivado block design, S_AXIS_S2MM and M_AXIS_MM2S` of the AXI DMA are not connected to anything. I hypothesize that this might be the reason causing the idle issue in the first place, and I am working on a new HLS function. If you know how I can avoid re-designing the HLS function and use the current gmem method for memory transfer, please advise.

Debugging
Here are also some information and speculations to help with debugging:

Register map

RegisterMap {
  MM2S_DMACR = Register(RS=1, Reset=0, Keyhole=0, Cyclic_BD_Enable=0, IOC_IrqEn=0, Dly_IrqEn=0, Err_IrqEn=0, IRQThreshold=1, IRQDelay=0),
  MM2S_DMASR = Register(Halted=0, Idle=1, SGIncld=0, DMAIntErr=0, DMASlvErr=0, DMADecErr=0, SGIntErr=0, SGSlvErr=0, SGDecErr=0, IOC_Irq=1, Dly_Irq=0, Err_Irq=0, IRQThresholdSts=0, IRQDelaySts=0),
  MM2S_CURDESC = Register(Current_Descriptor_Pointer=0),
  MM2S_CURDESC_MSB = Register(Current_Descriptor_Pointer=0),
  MM2S_TAILDESC = Register(Tail_Descriptor_Pointer=0),
  MM2S_TAILDESC_MSB = Register(Tail_Descriptor_Pointer=0),