Overlay Tutorial incorrect | PYNQ readthedocs

Hello,
I am a beginner to PYNQ and I was following this Overlay Tutorial — Python productivity for Zynq (Pynq)
I have a PYNQ Z2 board and when I ran the HLS code under this
Overlay Tutorial — Python productivity for Zynq (Pynq)
The HLS (Vitis HLS 2023.1) tool threw errors as shown below

Can anyone help me resolve this? I am very new to PYNQ, it would be really helpful if someone could link me to resources which would help me learn these.
Thanks

Hi @varun_samaga,

Welcome to the PYNQ community.

You should use a Vivado version that aligns with the PYNQ version you’re using. Vivado 2023.1 is not supported to rebuild the overlay.

https://pynq.readthedocs.io/en/latest/pynq_sd_card.html

Best,
Mario

Hey Mario,
Thanks for your response.
It would be really helpful if you guys update the docs to include this redirect so beginners like me don’t fall into this pitfall! The add implementation actually did work with 2023.1 so that led to this issue. I had implemented some other random simple stuff with 2023.1 too and they worked too. So if you have any idea for the reason for this incompatibility between different versions, could you shine some light on it (I’m just curious!)?

EDIT(18/6/23): The HLS tool failed to regenerate again for the same code, I have installed Vitis HLS 2022.1 as my PYNQ image is v3. The same errors were generated, looks like the code is out of date?
Thanks again,
Varun

@marioruiz

I think this is a good chance to ask a confusing question that seen in many posts.

Q1 PYNQ Image compile tool version is strict ? (For example Vivado 2020.2 for PYNQ 2.7)

Q2 PYNQ overlay version however is slack? (For example PYNQ 3.0.1 can accept overlay from Vivado 2020.2 or before) Of cause some uses tcl and some are hwh but not really matter a lot as they can both generated accordingly.

Overlay = bit+hwh OR bit+tcl
Image = Ubuntu + PYNQ Python Engine etc

Thanks,

ENJOY~

@varun_samaga,