Repeating signal from DMA to DAC

PYNQ 3.0.1
Vivado 2022.1
RFSoC 4x2

Hi everyone,

Summary: I’m having trouble sending data from the DMA to the DAC, and I don’t know if my issue is purely code, or both code and hardware.

I’d like to give a little context so that readers know my level of knowledge. I’m an undergraduate student researcher that has temporarily taken over a project for a grad student. The student I took over for was stuck on sending a signal from the DMA to the DAC for viewing on oscilloscope, and I’m trying to clear that hurdle.

Coming into this, I had some basic Verilog and Altera experience, and I’ve spent the last two months trying in earnest to learn PYNQ, Vivado, AXI, and Zynq UltraScale+. I think I have a passable knowledge at this point, but I still feel very much like a beginner. I’ve understood the tutorials and guides I’ve worked through, but I’m having a lot of trouble synthesizing it all into a working design. Unfortunately, I’ll be ending my time with this project next week as classes start back up. I’ve been spending recent weeks combing through these forums for similar issues and trying to incorporate those solutions into my work. Since I’m running out of time, though, I’ve reached the point where I think the only way I’ll solve this problem is to ask for (probably too much) help on my entire design.

The Hardware:

Most of my block diagrams crash my board for reasons that I don’t understand. They often fail at one of these three lines of code:

ol = Overlay(‘filename’)
dma = ol.axi_dma_0
dac = ol.usp_rf_data_converter_0

This morning, however, I was able to finally produce an initial design that didn’t crash on these assignments. Additionally, I was then able to then modify that design to add an ILA module (all of my previous working designs break with the addition of the ILA).