DPU-PYNQ custom ZU+ board porting

Hello Everybody,

I am fairly new to Xilinx tools and PYNQ and I am working on porting DPU-PYNQ 1.4.0 to a custom board with a ZU+ XCZU11EG series SoC FPGA.

PYNQ image build for the custom board

I managed to build the PYNQ 2.7.0 image for the custom board using an Ubuntu 18.04.6 VM set up with a modified version of the Vagrant file provided in the git repo to give it more space. I used Xilinx 2020.2 tools and applied the Y2k22_patch and built the image from a BSP for the board.

The board boots up and I am able to access the Jupyter Notebooks server, no problem there.

DPU-PYNQ test build for ZCU104

Before attempting the porting to the custom board, I rebuilt the DPU-PYNQ hardware for a ZCU104 board following this tutorial on the VM used for the PYNQ image build. Since DPU-PYNQ requires Vitis 2021.1 I modified the Make files to work with my Vitis 2020.2.

The test build for the ZCU104 worked fine and I was able to deploy it by copying the DPU-PYNQ folder from the VM to /home/xilinx/DPU-PYNQ and running pip3 install /home/xilinx/DPU-PYNQ --no-build-isolation in a terminal opened in the Jupyter Notebook server. I fetched the notebooks by executing

cd $PYNQ_JUPYTER_NOTEBOOKS
pynq get-notebooks pynq-dpu -p .

The examples ran just fine on the ZCU104.

Porting to the custom board

Following this post about How to run DPU examples custom platform I created the necessary files for the custom board using the commits on the Github repo linked under the post. I added my board’s name to the supported boards and I added the configuration options based on the board name to the Make files. For the files I used the exact same ones as in the git repo.