Need Help: Processing file text in Pynq PL

Dear Master,

I am new in FPGA world and learning Pynq, vivado, vivado hls and such these time.

I have a problem though, when I was using VC707 to running my acceleration IP using FIFO to process regular expression from file to PS-PL via PCIE with xillybus is successfully working using driver to perform stream file from PS to PL.

However, when I have to use Pynq Z1 to perform such FIFO application with AXI Stream and DMA. I have no idea how to read file text as stream to be processed in PL.

Would you mind to help me?

Thank you.

Hendar

I guess you can read text file as a numpy array. There are many references on the internet so I guess you can google them.

The xlnk.cma_array has the same type of API as numpy array so you can read files into it directly. Then use DMA to send it over to the streaming interface.

A working example can be found here.

Dear @rock, I tried to learn resize workflow, from IP making using vivado_hls, making tcl, hwh and bitstream from vivado, then running jupyter notebook for both PS and PL.

However, when I tried to make project IP from resize IP, I have encountered some errors.

/ip/hls/resize$ make && make clean
vivado_hls -f script.tcl

****** Vivado™ HLS - High-Level Synthesis from C, C++ and SystemC v2019.2 (64-bit)
**** SW Build 2708876 on Wed Nov 6 21:39:14 MST 2019
**** IP Build 2700528 on Thu Nov 7 00:09:20 MST 2019
** Copyright 1986-2019 Xilinx, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

source /opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2019.2/scripts/vivado_hls/hls.tcl -notrace
INFO: [HLS 200-10] Running ‘/opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2019.2/bin/unwrapped/lnx64.o/vivado_hls’
INFO: [HLS 200-10] For user ‘radhen’ on host ‘radhen’ (Linux_x86_64 version 5.3.0-62-generic) on Wed Jul 08 12:21:09 JST 2020
INFO: [HLS 200-10] On os Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS
INFO: [HLS 200-10] In directory ‘/home/radhen/Pynq-HelloWorld/boards/ip/hls/resize’
Sourcing Tcl script ‘script.tcl’